

Safety and Resilience Committee MINUTES

Minutes of an ordinary meeting of the Safety and Resilience Committee held in the Council Chamber, Level 2 Philip Laing House, 144 Rattray Street, Dunedin on Wednesday 10 May 2023, commencing at 2:00 PM.

PRESENT

Cr Gary Kelliher Cr Alan Somerville Cr Alexa Forbes Cr Michael Laws (online) Cr Kevin Malcolm Cr Andrew Noone Cr Gretchen Robertson Cr Bryan Scott Cr Kate Wilson (Co-Chairperson) (Co-Chairperson)

1. WELCOME

Co-Chairperson Gary Kelliher welcomed Councillors, members of the public and staff to the meeting at 2:00 pm. Staff present included Pim Borren, (interim Chief Executive), Nick Donnelly (GM Corporate Services), Anita Dawe (GM Policy and Science), Gavin Palmer (GM Operations), Richard Saunders (GM Regulatory and Communications), Amanda Vercoe (GM Governance, Culture and Customer), Liz Spector (Governance Support), Kylie Darragh (Governance Support)

2. APOLOGIES

Resolution: Cr Wilson Moved, Cr Noone Seconded: That the apologies for Cr McCall, Cr Mepham, Cr Weir be accepted. MOTION CARRIED

3. PUBLIC FORUM

Colin Scurr and Simon Parks, Lower Taieri Flood and Drainage Scheme spoke to the committee about the rate review.

John Glover, online, spoke about the report Head of Lake Whakatipu floodplain and the flooding issues at Kinloch Road.

There was an opportunity for the Councillors to ask questions.

4. CONFIRMATION OF AGENDA

The agenda was confirmed as presented.

5. DECLARATIONS OF INTERESTS

No changes to the Councillor Declarations of Interests were noted.

6. CONFIRMATION OF MINUTES

Resolution: Cr Wilson Moved, Cr Somerville Seconded

That the minutes of the Safety and Resilience Committee meeting held on 23 February 2023 be confirmed as a true and accurate record. MOTION CARRIED

7. MATTERS FOR CONSIDERATION

7.1. Head of Lake Whakatipu floodplain and liquefaction hazard intervention assessments

Jean-Luc Payan (Manager Natural Hazards), Tim van Woerden (Natural Hazards Analyst), and Gavin Palmer (GM Operations) were present to respond to questions about the report. Mike Jacka (Sr Geotechnical Engineer at Tonkin + Taylor) and Grant Webby (Damwatch Engineering) were present to speak to their reports.

Mike Jacka presented a PowerPoint entitled Head of Lake Wakatipu Natural Hazards Adaptation which addressed engineering options for managing liquefaction. Grant Webby (Damwatch Engineering) responded to questions from Councillors about the Dart-Rees floodplain hazards report.

Dr Payan noted the reports were not intended to recommend actions to Council but to provide options for mitigation. Mr von Woerden noted engagement sessions with community have

started discussions about adaptation pathways using information provided in these two reports. He also noted staff will start putting together an intervention map or list to inform a timeframe for the immediate short-term actions.

Cr Kelliher asked whether the 2016 GeoSolve report "Flood Protection – Kinloch Road/Dart River" noted by Public Forum speaker John Glover could be noted as well. Following a discussion, it was agreed to include noting of that report.

Resolution SRC23-103: Cr Kelliher Moved, Cr Wilson Seconded

That the Safety and Resilience Committee:

- 1) Notes this report.
- 2) Notes the report by Tonkin + Taylor Ltd; Engineering approaches for managing liquefaction-related risk, dated February 2023 and the report by Damwatch Engineering Ltd; Dart-Rees floodplain adaptation Report on 23-24 February workshop, dated November 2022.
- *3)* **Notes** the findings presented in these reports.
- 4) **Endorses** the use of the information presented in these reports to inform natural hazard management and adaptation decision-making for the Dart-Rees floodplain and Glenorchy.
- 5) **Notes** the proposed scope and intent of the Head of Lake Whakatipu natural hazards work programme.
- 6) **Notes** the GeoSolve report entitled Flood Protection Kinloch Road / Dart River dated 1 June 2016

MOTION CARRIED

Cr Laws left the meeting at 3:35 pm.

7.2. Otago Region Natural Hazards Risk Assessment

This report was provided to inform the Committee of the work programme to undertake a natural hazards risk assessment for the Otago region, and development of a prioritisation approach to inform ORC's natural hazard risk management/adaptation planning and implementation. Tim van Woerden (Natural Hazards Analyst), Jean-Luc Payan (Manager Natural Hazards), Andrew Welch (Spatial Analyst) and Gavin Palmer (GM Operations) were present to respond to questions about the report.

Following questions from Councillors and a discussion of the report, it was moved:

Resolution SRC23-104: Cr Robertson Moved, Cr Scott Seconded

That the Safety and Resilience Committee:

- 1) Notes this report.
- 2) Notes the Otago Regional Council natural hazards risk assessment work programme.

MOTION CARRIED

Cr Forbes left the meeting at 4:11 pm. Cr Wilson left the meeting at 4:21 pm.

8. CLOSURE

There was no further business, Cr Somerville said a karakia to close the meeting and Co-chair Cr Kelliher declared the meeting closed at 4:26 pm.

Chairperson	Date	